Sunday, February 27, 2011
Opening Day 2011
We opened the season the right way today-- good weather, exactly enough players, and two one-run games. Havelock Hewes beat Freddy Melendez 5-4, and Dave Rosengard's team got him a comeback victory in game 2, 10-9 over Adam Garcia. Hewes's team scored 4 times in the 1st, and just barely held on. Bill McLaughlin's single to center was the first hit of the year, and he came around to score the first run, driven in by Ian Parfrey. Melendez's squad chipped away at the lead, and stranded the tying run on second base when Justin Stotsky flew out to right.
In the second game, Stotsky came through, delivering a 2-run single to short center to tie the game in the bottom of the 8th. Gil Schmerler grounded a double down the left field line to score Mike Sulyman for the decisive run. Seven straight batters reached base during this rally, which started with Ken Walker's 2-out, 2-run HR to left-center.
Thanks to Zach Nilva and Tony Connor for getting us the field and the turnout.
In the second game, Stotsky came through, delivering a 2-run single to short center to tie the game in the bottom of the 8th. Gil Schmerler grounded a double down the left field line to score Mike Sulyman for the decisive run. Seven straight batters reached base during this rally, which started with Ken Walker's 2-out, 2-run HR to left-center.
Thanks to Zach Nilva and Tony Connor for getting us the field and the turnout.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
6 comments:
Great games but my body is hurting. I sneezed this morning and felt pain everywhere.
Derek
If the bases are loaded with one out and a batted ball hits a runner on second what is the call?
Baseball Rules and Regulations
Answer
Technical answer, no call if the runner is on the base. If the runner was off any base when the ball hit them, then that runner is out, batter gets first base, runner on third stays on third, runner on first gets second.
This all assumes the ball hit the runner in front of the fielders. If the infield was in, and this happened after the runner had a chance to field the ball, then there is no call.
Official rule book section 7.08 (f) Any runner is out when he is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runners may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance.
Infield Fly Rule
When it seems apparent that a batted ball will be an Infield Fly, the umpire shall immediately declare "Infield Fly" for the benefit of the runners. If the ball is near the baselines, the umpire shall declare "Infield Fly, if Fair."
The ball is alive and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball. If the hit becomes a foul ball, it is treated the same as any foul.
If a declared Infield Fly is allowed to fall untouched to the ground, and bounces foul before passing first or third base, it is a foul ball. If a declared Infield Fly falls untouched to the ground outside the baseline, and bounces fair before passing first or third base, it is an Infield Fly.
Rule 2.00 (Infield Fly) Comment: On the infield fly rule the umpire is to rule whether the ball could ordinarily have been handled by an infielder-not by some arbitrary limitation such as the grass, or the base lines. The umpire must rule also that a ball is an infield fly, even if handled by an outfielder, if, in the umpire's judgment, the ball could have been as easily handled by an infielder. The infield fly is in no sense to be considered an appeal play. The umpire's judgment must govern, and the decision should be made immediately.
When an infield fly rule is called, runners may advance at their own risk. If on an infield fly rule, the infielder intentionally drops a fair ball, the ball remains in play despite the provisions of the Rule, The infield fly rule takes precedence.
It's a good thing we play SFLOI softball and not baseball! :P
Good games, I'm aching from head-to-toe as well.
so the interference call was correct, as the ball hadn't passed the infielders.
YEAH I KNEW I WAS OUT ON BOTH OCCASIONS BT WHO AM I 2ARGUE. HEY N AND I THOUGHT I WAS DA ONLY ONE IN PAIN LOL.. OUCH STILL HURTS!!!!!!!!!!!! DAGAME OUT
Post a Comment